REALIGNMENT 2018: Class 2A Mock Alignment

247sports.com/high-school/texas/Article/REALIGNMENT-2018-Class-2A-Mock-Alignment-114053678/



West Texas well represented in 2A

While much of the state of Texas is growing within the Urban Triangle corridor -- Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston, San Antonio -- one part of the state that isn't is West Texas.

In fact, quite a few places in the region are shrinking. There are 83 schools who will play in the smallest 11-man football classification that are located west of Interstate 35 -- 29 of those schools will be 2A-Division I, and the other 48 will be 2A-DII.

The first six districts in 2A-DI could easily be made up of schools located west of I-35, while the first eight districts could have all but one school located west of the interstate --Tioga would be the exception as a member of District 8-2A-DII. Three members of the projected 14-2A-DII alignment -- D'Hanis, La Pryor and Rocksprings -- are also located west of I-35.

Another interesting development in 2A football will be the guarantee of a new state champion in 2A-DI. That's because the 2017 champion of that division, Mart, will move down to Division II.

Interestingly enough, 2A-DII runner-up Tenaha is moving up to Division I as well. A slew of 3A schools are moving down to 2A as well, and some of these schools are located inside the Urban Triangle or east of I-45.

In East Texas, Beckville, Garrison and Harleton are making the move down to 2A. Central Texas schools Bruceville-Eddy, Hearne and Jewett Leon are moving down from 3A as is Wallis Brazos, which is located on the Austin-Fort Bend County line just west of Houston.

Here's a look at Class 2A:

Class 2A-Division I

Region I

District 1

Amarillo Highland Park-1

Boys Ranch-1

Panhandle-1

Stinnett West Texas-1

Sanford-Fritch-1

Sunray-1

District 2

Floydada-1

Hale Center-1

New Deal-1

Olton-1

Sundown-1

District 3

Forsan-1

Hawley-1

Post-1

Stamford-1

Winters-1

District 4

Brackettville Brackett-1

Center Point-1

Harper-1

Junction-1

Mason-1

Ozona-1

Sabinal-1

Region II

District 5

Alvord-1

Chico-1

De Leon-1

Hico-1

Olney-1

Seymour-1

District 6

Bosqueville-1

Crawford-1

Goldthwaite-1

Moody-1

San Saba-1

Valley Mills-1

District 7

Axtell-1

Cayuga-1

Italy-1

Itasca-1

Kerens-1

Malakoff Cross Roads-1

District 8

Celeste-1

Collinsville-1

Lindsay-1

Tom Bean-1

Trenton-1

Valley View-1

Region III

District 9

Bogata Rivercrest-1

Como-Pickton-1

Honey Grove-1

Linden-Kildare-1

Quinlan Boles-1

Wolfe City-1

District 10

Beckville-1

Big Sandy-1

Gladewater Union Grove-1

Harleton-1

Hawkins-1

Price Carlisle-1

District 11

Alto-1

Cushing-1

Garrison-1

Joaquin-1

Tenaha-1

Timpson-1

District 12

Deweyville-1

Groveton-1

Hull-Daisetta-1

San Augustine-1

Shelbyville-1

West Sabine-1

Region IV

District 13

Centerville-1

Hearne-1

Jewett Leon-1

Marlin-1

Normangee-1

Riesel-1

District 14

Bruceville-Eddy-1

Holland-1

Milano-1

Rosebud-Lott-1

Thorndale-1

Thrall-1

District 15
Kenedy-1
Refugio-1
Shiner-1
Wallis Brazos-1
Weimar-1
Yorktown-1

Ben Bolt-Palito Blanco-1

Freer-1

Riviera Kaufer-1

Santa Maria-1

Three Rivers-1

Class 2A-Division II

Region I

District 1

Booker-2

Gruver-2

Shamrock-2

Stratford-2

Vega-2

Wheeler-2

District 2

Clarendon-2

Claude-2

Crosbyton-2

Lockney-2

Memphis-2

Ralls-2

Wellington-2

District 3

Bovina-2

Farwell-2

New Home-2

Smyer-2 Earth Springlake-2 Sudan-2 District 4 Hamlin-2

Plains-2

Roby-2

Roscoe Collegiate-2

Seagraves-2

Tahoka-2

Region II

District 5

Christoval-2

Eldorado-2

Iraan-2

McCamey-2

Menard-2

Van Horn-2

Wink-2

District 6

Albany-2

Baird-2

Cross Plains-2

Haskell-2

Miles-2

Munday-2

District 7

Archer City-2

Electra-2

Petrolia-2

Quanah-2

Windthorst-2

District 8

Era-2

Muenster-2

Dawson-2 Frost-2 Hubbard-2 Mart-2 Meridian-2
District 10
Campbell-2 Clarksville-2 Cumby-2 Detroit-2 Maud-2 Simms Bowie-2
District 11
Bremond-2 Grapeland-2 Lovelady-2 Mount Enterprise-2 Overton-2 Wortham-2
District 12
Burkeville-2 Colmesneil-2 Evadale-2 Sabine Pass-2 Saratoga West Hardin-2
Region IV
District 13
Bartlett-2 Burton-2 Granger-2

Ranger-2 Santo-2 Tioga-2

Region III

District 9 Chilton-2 Iola-2

Snook-2

Somerville-2

District 14

Charlotte-2

D'Hanis-2

Falls City-2

La Pryor-2

Rocksprings-2

District 15

Flatonia-2

Louise-2

Pettus-2

Runge-2

Woodsboro-2

District 16

Agua Dulce-2

Benavides-2

Bruni-2

La Villa-2

Premont-2